(SAN ANTONIO) – Brooks – San Antonio’s fastest-growing mixed-use community – conducted its biennial board elections today to determine its slate of board officers for its 2020 and 2021 fiscal years. Chairman Steven Goldberg was elected to a second term as chair as well as Secretary Sonia Veliz. Newly elected officers are Vice Chair Lorraine Pulido and Treasurer Anita Uribe Martin. The current officer terms expire July 31, 2019 and new officers take office August 1, 2019.

“I am honored by the opportunity to continue to lead this passionate group of board members,” said Goldberg. “Together we will build on the momentum that Brooks has as we continue to establish ourselves as an economic engine for this region of San Antonio.”

Goldberg, a retired managing director for global reinsurance broker Aon Benfield, will enter his fourth term on the Brooks Board, having been originally appointed in 2013. During his tenure, Goldberg has helped to guide Brooks through the financing and development of major projects including the Embassy Suites Hotel & Spa, several market-rate apartment buildings and the 43-acre Greenline linear park.

Brooks Board of Directors Chair, Steven Goldberg

Lorraine Pulido, Ph.D.

Brooks Board of Directors Vice Chair, Lorraine Pulido

Brooks Board of Directors Treasurer, Anita Uribe Martin

Sonia Veliz

Brooks Board of Directors Secretary, Sonia Veliz

Dr. Pulido is the Communications Manager for VIA Metropolitan Transit with more than 13 years’ experience in the marketing and communications industry. She began her tenure on the Brooks Board in 2018 and also serves as vice chair of the Brooks 501(c)(3) non-profit Brooks Gives Back Board.

Ms. Uribe Martin is the Director of Community Relations for University Health System and has more than 20 years experience in the public affairs industry. She began her tenure on the Brooks board in 2018 and in her new role as Treasurer, will also chair the boards finance committee.

Ms. Veliz is the Board Secretary and Administrator for Brooks, and also serves as the Executive Assistant to Brooks’ President & CEO. She began her position with Brooks in April 2013, and has served as Board Secretary for the past two years.

Appointed by the San Antonio City Council, the Brooks Board of Directors governs the Brooks Development Authority, which owns and manages the 1,308-acre mixed-use campus. The Brooks Board of Directors consists of 11 members, each representing one of San Antonio’s eleven districts.

The Brooks Board of Directors meets the third Tuesday of every month at 11 a.m. at the Embassy Suites at Brooks. For more information, visit livebrooks.com.