San Antonio’s fastest-growing mixed-use community – Brooks – conducted its biennial board elections to determine its slate of board officers for the 2022 and 2023 calendar years. Chairman Jim Campbell (City Council District 1) was elected to a second term as chair, as well as Vice Chair Lorraine Pulido (City Council District 4) and Secretary Sonia Veliz. Rudy Garza (representing City Council District 9) was elected Treasurer. Board officers will begin their terms at the beginning of the new year, January 1, 2022.

“I want to express my gratitude to my colleagues for giving me the chance to continue to lead Brooks as we continue to accelerate growth on the South Side,” said Campbell. “Brooks has a grand vision through which we are promoting and developing a dynamic, sustainable, and inclusive community. We are serving as a catalyst for transformative economic development and regional prosperity.”

“Jim’s leadership has added passion to our mission and put us in a place to continually think bigger and more fantastic,” said Brooks President & CEO Leo Gomez. “I am looking forward to the future and how Brooks will evolve while delivering on our strategic vision.”

Jim Campbell

Chair (District 1)

Jim Campbell is a public affairs consultant providing services in governmental relations, corporate communications, public relations, and business development. His thirty-five-year career includes executive positions as Senior Director of Public Affairs for HOLT CAT, Director of External Relations for the City of San Antonio, Senior Director of Governmental Relations and Communications for CPS Energy and Senior Vice President of The DeBerry Group. Campbell also serves as the Vice-Chair for the San Antonio River Authority.

Dr. Lorraine Pulido

Vice Chair (District 4)

Dr. Lorraine Pulido is the Communications Manager for VIA Metropolitan Transit with more than 25 years’ experience in the marketing and communications industry. She began her tenure on the Brooks Board in 2018 and serves as a Trustee for the Alamo Community Colleges District and Vice Chair of the Brooks 501(c)(3) non-profit Brooks Gives Back Board.

Rudy D. Garza

Treasurer (District 9)

Rudy D. Garza is the interim President & Chief Executive Officer for CPS Energy, the first Hispanic to hold this leadership position. Mr. Garza joined CPS Energy in 2012 and previously served as Chief Customer & Stakeholder Engagement Officer for the company. He continues to serve his community through multiple board positions and serves his UT Austin alma mater as an advisory board member for the School of Electrical Engineering.

Sonia Veliz

Sonia Veliz


Sonia Veliz is the Board Secretary and Office Manager for Brooks, and also serves as the Executive Assistant to Brooks’ President & CEO. She began her position with Brooks in April 2013 and has served as Board Secretary for the past three years.

Full Brooks Board of Directors:

David Christian, Finance Committee Vice Chair (City Council District 2)
Pat Jasso, Finance Committee Member (City Council District 3)
Gabe Farias, Planning & Development Committee Chair (City Council District 5)
Dan Rossiter, Planning & Development Committee Member (City Council District 6)
Anita Uribe Martin, Finance Committee Chair (City Council District 7)
Roland F. Gonzales, Finance Committee Member (City Council District 8)
Joe Nix, Planning & Development Committee Vice Chair (City Council District 10)
Alejandra “Alex” Lopez, Finance Committee Member (Mayoral)

The Brooks Board of Directors meets the third Tuesday of every month at 11 a.m. For more information,
including monthly meeting agendas, visit